Restore Yourself

Here is a post to make you think about restoration of one’s self.

What do you do to “solo rest” and rejuvenate yourself? For me I rejuvenate by, reading a book, talking a walk, looking out my windows at nature (be it at the sky or in the tree’s). I also work on taking a break – such as going to a cafe for a cup of coffee, or even enjoy taking a  stroll in the produce section of the grocery store.

In my mid twenties, one of my favorite breaks was driving to a country nursery and wondering around the plants and indoor greenhouse. In my college years, I went to the Dewitt Mall and ordered chocolate cake, sitting solo with my thought. On a good weather day I would go up the hill to the Johnson Museum and observe the art on display. If I was short of time I would go to the snack bar on my own campus and order a bagel and cream cheese.

When I worked in New York City in the early 80’s, I would, weather permitting, go to the park with the waterfall wall and eat a sandwich at lunchtime. In the rainier or cooler times I would go into the then Citibank atrium and enjoy the chatter of fellow restaurant and cafe patrons and savor a cup of coffee.The reason for me telling these tales is to get you to think about what you do, primarily in solitude, to restore yourself.

These days, I look out my window at the large oak trees and pines that surround the house, enjoy a cup of tea or coffee in my favorite chair. I also walk my dog or spend time petting him and watch my cares go away.

So what do you do to restore yourself? Knowing some of the activities you can choose, helps you to select your options. A rest break, short or long,  can bring you energy and revitalize the rest of your day.

From working with client’s perspective, you can help your client make a list of restoration activities and discuss how fitting them into their schedule is a boon to productivity and success.

This is a modified post from my Transition You Life Blog.

1 Comment

Filed under Caregiving, Client Management Strategies, Creativity, Knowledge, Productivity, Terms, Time

One response to “Restore Yourself

  1. Fred

    It’s good that Terry motivates us to think about this rejuvenation, as it’s key to our well-being. For me it’s a circular process between my external and inner states. I am a person of deep, intense emotions and sensibilities which makes self-management difficult. So I need to change the external state (e.g., walk dog, read an escape novel, do some kind of physical activity, meditation or the emptying of all thought from the mind, eat correct foods, play a musical instrument or sing, conversation or interaction with a friend) but at the same time also need to adjust the internal state. The things that work internally for me is reinforcement of unconditional love and that means the Serenity Prayer, of accepting all that has happened to me in the past to be for my ultimate good; light-hearted thinking or observing and “collecting” little things, colors or patterns around me; writing in a journal or to a friend; shifting attention from the negative fearful to the positive optimistic per Dr Pillay’s book, Unlocking Life; and prayer and meditation to God or the angels/spiritual helpers around us. So for me restoration is a ongoing synergy between our internal and external states.

Leave a Reply

