Summer Reading

Summer is upon us and there is often time for a good book. I have a few books going right now and some waiting for a chance to be read. For me, it is always exciting to have the “future” books ahead of me, tempting me to finish up.

I am almost done with Presence-Based Coaching by Doug Silsbee, and The Average American by Kevin O’Keefe. Read For Your Life – 11 Ways to Transform Your Life with Books by Pat Williams with Peggy Mathew Rose is currently awaiting my perusal.

In the fiction realm, I have just finished The Blue Rose – an English Garden Mystery by Anthony Eglin  and I am currently reading Pictures from An Expedition by Diane Smith. This book is rather extraordinarily written in terms of its perspective and how the chapters are formulated. The only thing I seem to think is missing are drawings to go with the images, so neatly sculpted by the author in her plot.  The book is set in 1876, right after the Battle of The Little Bighorn and covers the American West.  Awaiting my attention New England White by Stephen L. Carter. I was mesmerized by his earlier novel The Emperor of Ocean Park. I hope to enjoy New England White just as much.

So what is on your reading pile?

2 Comments

Filed under Knowledge, Productivity, Thinking

2 responses to “Summer Reading

  1. Fred

    I haven’t read any of the books Terry is reading, but all her books sound interesting.

    I really like books on Near Death Experiences, maybe because my Dad almost died in Burma in WWII and had one. The book I just finished is “90 Minutes in Heaven” by Don Piper, who is a Baptist minister. He “died” in a horrific car accident, but during that 90 minutes experienced Heaven. He wished he stayed there, because his recovery from the accident was Hellish but he reveals that his “return to life” had a purpose. The book bears witness to the power of prayer.

    This summer I discovered an author whose spy thrillers will totally captivate you, namely David Hagberg. I read The Expediter and Critical Mass. I liked the books so much I found myself rereading them. Be prepared to stay up all night.

    A nonfiction book I’m reading is “The Great Influenza” by John M. Barry. This book tells the story of the Great Pandemic of 1918 and has fascinating details. For example, Woodrow Wilson was afflicted by this flu, which is a major factor why in his debiliated state he capitulated to the French demands for harsh measures against the Germans, setting the ground for WWII.

    Another nonfiction book is Bix: The Davenport Album by Rich J. Johnson on my famous relative, Bix Beiderbecke. It has interesting details on Bix that I’d never read, and I’ve most everything about Bix up to this point. I got it at the Bix Jazz Festival last week in Davenport, Iowa. It’s a hefty tome.

    I also continue to read Sherlock Holmes stories by Conan Doyle. Doyle is absolutely one of the best storytellers of all time in the English language. And you’ll expand your vocabulary as Doyle often uses recondite words like ululate.

    Lastly, I’m reading Saved by Philosophy by my friend Steve Propp. It’s “philosophical fiction” about an African American single mother on welfare who becomes a philosophy professor. It has some really great moments in it, even a lot of humor.

    I think of all the books Terry mentions, I’d like to read The Blue Rose – an English Garden Mystery. I read the Secret Garden a few years ago and loved it.

  2. Fred

    I need to write an appendix to my earlier comment about books that I’m reading this summer. I am an eclectic reader and easily get enticed into new directions. Since I normally don’t watch TV or movies, books are my main “entertainment”. I found two very exciting books I’ve read in the last two weeks.

    The first is “The Glory That Was” by L. Sprague de Camp, a science fiction book. I was totally captivated by the book’s story, so much so that I re-read it a second time and enjoyed it just as much as the first! As Robert Heinlein states in the introduction, de Camp has the best sense of humor of any modern science fiction writer. His humor is never overstated but shines on every page. The premise of the book is stupendous: Two travelers, one of whom is a scholar of classical Greek, live in the 27th century and through a plausible set of circumstances find themselves in classical Greece during the 5th century BC. This is Golden Age of Athens so you meet all the famous Greeks like Socrates, Demokritos, Pericles, Euripides, etc. But did they travel in time or this is a delusion? The book is out of print but you might be able to get it at the library or one of the on-line used book search vehicles.

    The other book is a more recent one called The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. My wife read this book because someone else recommended it to her; she told me, “You’ve got to read this book”. So once again I got side tracked from my reading plan.

    The book is Jeannette’s memoirs about growing up in her family in the last half of the 2oth century in the West (Arizona, California and Utah) in her earlier years, and then West Virginia in her adolescence, and finally New York City. If you think your family is dysfunctional or even the family in “Angela’s Ashes” is dysfunctional by traditional family norms, you’ll probably agree that this family sets a record. (As Jeannette’s mother said, their family even “out-Okied the Okies” when they traveled through that state). However, Walls is a powerful story teller and there are many truths to divine from her marvelous life story. Her father called Jeannette the Mountain Goat which is an apt name because it took much perseverance to survive her hard times and ultimately thrive as she is doing now. I was utterly enthralled and stayed up all night reading it. I too highly recommend it as a must-read for everyone. Summer’s almost over but these books are relatively quick reads because once you start, you can’t stop.

Leave a Reply

