Attitude toward’s One’s Books

A library study in Colorado* once said the average American home has 40 books. I think homes that have over 40 books are homes of readers. In 2007, the Ipso poll stated one that one in four American’s read no books in 2006/2007. The biggest readers are college educated. Women and retirees appear to read the most.  Student test scores were higher in  Colorado households having more books  – according to a study reported in 2003 by NEAP.

What is your attitude about books?

  • Books should be seen
  • Some books are private
  • Books must be kept in pristine condition
  • Books that are used are “dirty”
  • Books are only temporary
  • Books are for life
  • Books are meant to be reread
  • Books are my friends
  • Books are a waste of my time
  • Books are old-fashioned – online is where I get my information
  • Too many books, too little time
  • Books should be color coded
  • Books should be stored by author
  • Books should be separated by category
  • Use your library, buying books is extravagant
  • Shop for used books online.
  • Books should come from libraries

Whatever your attitude is about books, it is reading that usually brings the joy or provides you with knowledge or information.

There are many great websites for readers, here are some I check out from time to time:

Stacked

A Work In Progress

Other Resources

Of course, one of my favorite supply sources for tools for serious readers or making reading more comfortable is Levenger’s. Then there is Reading Trails , a unique kind of networking community for readers.

For those who blog about books – the Book Blogger Convention is this week in New York. Check out the attendees list to get some idea of active book bloggers.

According to a May 2007 “Report to the Community” by the Pikes Peak Library District, Colorado Springs, CO (www.ppld.org). Note – I am still trying to officially confirm this number which was posted as a response to a question about average number of books in American households on askville.com

1 Comment

Filed under Books to Read, Knowledge, Philosophy

One response to “Attitude toward’s One’s Books

  1. Fred

    I really enjoyed Terry’s post. Of her attitudes, two that fit me would be “Books are my friends” and “Too many books, too little time”. I own several thousand books, many of which I have not read yet. Even so, they’re just being there in my library is like being amongst a host of dear friends of whom I potentially will make acquaintance (especially if I can retire and have more time). Some of my books have a human friend behind them; e.g., I have several books by an author friend that I need to finish reading for a review to Amazon.com.

    There’s some truth to the adage that the fewer books we own, the more likely we are to read those few books. (I first encountered this concept to the introduction to an obscure 19th century science book; a TV free era when the populace tended to have proportionately more intrinsically inveterate, voracious readers.) One of my “few books” that I keep reading is the Sherlock Holmes works by Conan Doyle, even rereading the stories. Holmes and Dr Watson are perfect foils to one another. I think Doyle is one of the all-time greatest storytellers.

    As regards the links to the websites, I like A Work in Progress the most. I really don’t know how the author of this blog is able to maintain her torrid pace…of almost a daily posting, all of which seem to be of very high quality . She said she was a getting a little burned out putting out one posting a day and welcomed downtime due to unplanned house renovations. No wonder! My favorite piece is her commentary about Virgina Wolff. So much of what Wolff says about reading rings true, such as reading is an art in that we must find our own unique reading style, reading can be challenging, and we should resist glib judgment on authors.

    I think Terry’s statistic that 25% of Americans read no books in one year is very unfortunate, because books to me are the highest form of entertainment since you are a full participant and partner with the author. A retired police friend of mine expressed the importance of books from his observation that he never encountered a criminal who had a library card in his/her wallet! There’s no doubt reading deepens our perceptions of the world and enriches our inner imaginative life immensely.

Leave a Reply

