Where’s Your Shine?

Over the weekend I had a few experiences with “Shine”.  First off, I  spent the weekend polishing the silver to be ready for use for the upcoming holiday dinners.  This hands on approach made me appreciate the use and ability of my hands, my tenacity at getting this job accomplished and gratitude that I still had some hand lotion left.  It also made me think about delegating this job back next year since I was perhaps good at polishing silver but not great at it.  Secondly , I had an interesting conversations about Shine. Ashley – a helpful bagging clerk  from Belair Market, made a remark that California needs its own shine.  We were discussing the fact that until recently New Year’s Eve is marked more  by the East Coast Times Square ball dropping than any other event. Ashley then aptly commented “So where is our shine?”

Both of these activities brought me to thinking more about shine. We each have the ability to shine. We just need to know who we are and what we are good at.

Is it time for you to think about your shine?  Has your shine changed over the years? Are you getting ready to shine in a new and different area? Ask yourself Where is my shine?

1 Comment

Filed under Business Marketing Strategies, Caregiving, Client Management Strategies, Creativity, Knowledge, Philosophy, Terms, Thinking

One response to “Where’s Your Shine?

  1. Fred

    Terry asks a very pertinent question – about where’s your shine and what are you good at – that’s important for your sense of happiness, well-being and fulfillment. For those of us who are nearing our “golden years”, the problem is that if haven’t become “good” at something now where you can shine, then it’s less and less likely you can “shine” at least in the eyes of others or compared to others. Take learning a foreign language. I took up German in my 50s and my son took it up in his teens. We often had the same private tutor. What I noticed is that my son learns German much more readily than I do, especially on pronunciation. I difficulty mastering the German sound of the word for 10, but my son picks it up in a snap. I know that when I took up French in my youth it was much easier to learn a new language. However, I took up playing musical instruments at a young age so it is easy for me to “shine” at that now than if I were to try to learn music now. I think there are at least two lessons here – If you enjoyed something as a child, you probably are going to continue enjoying it in a similar fashion way into the future. If you always wanted to try something that you didn’t do as a child, go ahead and try it but let the concept of shining be in your inherent sense of self-satisfaction in the activity and not from seeking outside approval or comparing yourself to others. My father took up skydiving when he was 55 years old and made 62 jumps in one day on his 62nd birthday. So he did shine, but he wasn’t comparing himself to the younger guys, and he was 10 to 30 years older than most of them. He was doing it because he inherently enjoyed it. Plus he had a light-hearted attitude about his new-found love of skydiving. For example, he always said that skydiving was the ideal sport for senior citizens because gravity did all the work. Cicero reportedly took up Greek at age 90, which is the same age my mother took up playing the recorder (the end-blown flute). So it’s never to late to shine, but we have to maintain the right attitude and remember the shining comes from within us and not from somewhere else. Terry is right – New Years is an appropriate time to be thinking about shining and I’m glad she brought it up!

Leave a Reply

